Chris Hadfield to sing along from space with Canadian schools

1161

It’s Music Monday today, and this year’s celebration will be out of this world as the Coalition for Music Education gets help from Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, aboard the International Space Station.

chris-hadfield-sing-space-canadian-DM

This year’s theme for Music Monday is ‘Filling the Skies with Music’, and starting at 12 noon, EDT, the Coalition will be hosting a live webcast, which will link up with Chris Hadfield aboard the ISS at 12:30, in order for him to lead hundreds of thousands of school children (and many, many more people) in singing ISS — Is Someone Singing.

The event will be simultaneous across the country, taking place at 9 a.m. Pacific Time, 10 a.m. Mountain Time, 11 a.m. Central Time, 12 p.m. Eastern Time, 1 p.m. Atlantic Time and 1:30 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador. If you want to participate, you can go to www.musicmonday.ca to check out the details and sign up, and if you haven’t heard the song yet, here it is, being sung by Chris Hadfield, Ed Robertson of the Barenaked Ladies, and the Wexford Gleeks.

So, whatever you’re up to today, take a break if you can and join people across the country and in space in filling the skies with music.

By Scott Sutherland – Geekquinox